Skip to content

A New Direction

July 18, 2011

on the roadBig time change is on the horizon. First, please make note that this will be the last blog entry on this web address. The new caveman website is up and running. I haven’t had time to tweak it, just to set it up, so don’t expect any razzle dazzle. The new web address is http://www.gregcavemanparham.com.

Now that housekeeping is out of the way, time for the serious news. The past few weeks have been absolutely debilitating to me. I have been working hard on a big remodel to my rental and the effort has drained my time, energy, and finances. The work is done and it will rent soon, hopefully, but it took a heavy toll on me mentally and physically. Things were really compounded when I found out my marriage was failing. I won’t go into detail, but things have gotten to a point with Colleen and I that she asked for some time on her own. It’s the hardest thing I’ve ever had to do, but I am going to give her the time and space she needs to get things sorted out.

It has been a very tough year for me so far, marked by failure and setbacks. I quit the 12 hour race at Warda back in February for reasons still unknown. I started a TMBRA season in an exciting new category I felt I could excel in with a lackluster 4th place. Shortly thereafter, my season was over from a serious accident resulting in a dislocated shoulder. I’ve lost work, income, sanity, and much more from this unfortunate circumstance. It was also about this time that I noticed things not going well with my marriage. My real estate business has gone virtually nowhere. The Paleo blog I put a ton of work into hasn’t made a single dime. Other business ventures have also failed.

I’m packing my bags slightly heavy and leaving Texas to start the next chapter in my life. I’m looking for adventure, but I’m also looking for a little solitude and reflection. I’m looking to put this years failures and setbacks behind me and start anew.  Don’t know where I’m going yet, but I do know there will be fresh mountain air, rivers running wild, daytime highs that don’t flirt with 100 degrees each day, night time lows below 75, new faces, and mile upon mile of awesome singletrack. I don’t know how long I’ll be gone. Could be 2 months, could be 2 years. At the moment, there isn’t a whole lot tying me down to Austin. I love Austin, and I’m sure I’ll miss it, but there are a lot of things I won’t miss, particularly the traffic and the heat. It’s just not the same town I came to 11 years ago.My heart really beckons for something a little slower pace, yet a lot more wild.

Wherever life finds me, I know I will be happy and I will be free, the two most important things in life. Aside from leaving my beloved wife, leaving my dog Ladybird is going to be the hardest thing to leave behind. The greenbelt will always be there, as will the Colorado river and vibrant Austin skyline. Lost time with my best workout buddy, that’s a different story. I hope she gets to run and play as much as a Blue Lacy needs to.

I am posting this Monday night, I will be out of Austin by Tuesday afternoon. I plan on doing one last greenbelt ride early AM, finish tying up all my loose ends, finish packing, and hitting the road. Please bookmark/subscribe/check in every now and then the new web address for updates on where I’m at and how things are going. It’s been a grand journey so far, but the best is always yet to come. Thanks for following my adventures so far.

To my Cupcake, I miss you already and hope that our time apart fulfills its purpose and we can enjoy each other’s company once more. I love you.

Colleen and Greg

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jarred parham permalink
    July 18, 2011 7:30 pm

    My heart is breaking for my brother. I want u to know that i love you with all my heart and i no that no matter what i no u will be ok. You have the heart of a lion and no one can take that from you. You are a great man and i know god will be with you wherever you go.

  2. Stefani permalink
    July 18, 2011 9:28 pm

    Greg,
    This is really beautiful. My heart is with you, and I feel you, and it’s going to be hard but your attitude is in just the right place to turn this into a beneficial and, like you said, possibly liberating experience. To be human is to have the universe throw bags of bricks at you sometimes, haha, and it’s really inspiring to see you reacting to it the way you are. Truly. Way to fight the good fight. I look forward to hearing more about you and your journey, etc, in the future.
    Thank you, sincerely, for sharing.
    Best,
    Stefani / Pepper

  3. July 19, 2011 1:10 am

    Best of luck with the path. Sometimes it’s a winding one and doesn’t always go in the direction we thought it would, but it keeps on moving forward, out ahead of you.

    In case you hadn’t heard, we recently moved to Rossland. Some of the details are on my blog, John Russell just arrived here this afternoon, I think he’s having a good time so far.

    It’s pretty wild up here, and the trails are sweet and long. If you need a few days of solitude SS riding we can find room for you at our house and I can point you towards the trailheads which are literally right out the door.

Leave a Reply

